Adult Leader Awards

Adult leaders in the district are eligible for a number of awards based on their service to Scouting. See the nomination form or application for each award for the specific requirements.

Silver Beaver Award

The Silver Beaver Award was introduced in 1931 and is a council‐level distinguished service award of the Boy Scouts of America.  Recipients of this award are registered Scouters who have made an impact on the lives of youth through service given to the council.

Silver Beaver Award Nomination Form

Nolachuckey District Silver Beaver Past Recipients

District Award of Merit

The District Award of Merit is a council award presented by districts in the same manner that the Silver Beaver is a national award presented by councils. The award is available to Scouters who render service of an outstanding nature at the district level.

District Award of Merit Nomination Form

Nolachuckey District Award of Merit Past Recipients

Unit Leader Award of Merit

Quality unit leadership is the key to a quality unit program—and it leads to better Scout retention. Statistics show that if young people stay engaged in the program for at least five years, the BSA’s influence likely will stay with them for the rest of their lives. A quality Scouting experience will help keep Scouts in the program, and the Boy Scouts of America created the Unit Leader Award of Merit to recognize the quality unit leaders who make that happen.

Unit Leader Award of Merit Nomination Form

District-Level Service Awards

Unit-Level Service Awards

Veteran Award

Adults who have maintained at least five years of registered service in the Boy Scouts of America (including tenure as a registered youth) are eligible to receive Veteran Award recognition. The award is available for each multiple of 5 years’ service.

Veteran Award Application